Thursday, August 25, 2016

Status of Ratification of GST Bill

An empowered committee was set up by the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government in 2000 to streamline the GST model to be adopted and to develop the required backend infrastructure that would be needed for its implementation.

In his budget speech on 28 February 2006, P. Chidambaram, the then Finance Minister, announced the target date for implementation of GST to be 1 April 2010 and formed another empowered committee of State Finance Ministers to design the roadmap. The committee submitted its report to the government in April 2008 and released its First Discussion Paper on GST in India in 2009.

The Constitution (122nd Amendment) Bill, 2014 was introduced in the Lok Sabha by Finance Minister Arun Jaitley on 19 December 2014, and passed by the House on 6 May 2015. In the Rajya Sabha, the bill was referred to a Select Committee on 14 May 2015. The Select Committee of the Rajya Sabha submitted its report on the bill on 22 July 2015. The bill was passed by the Rajya Sabha on 3 August 2016, and the amended bill was passed by the Lok Sabha on 8 August 2016.

Status of Ratification of GST Bill

The GST Bill was passed in accordance with the provisions of Article 368 of the Constitution, and must be ratified by more than half of the State Legislatures, as required under Clause (2) of the said article. On 12 August 2016, Assam became the first state to ratify the bill, when the Assam Leglisative Assembly unanimously ratified it. State Legislatures that ratified the amendment are listed below:

1. Assam (12 August 2016)

2. Bihar (16 August 2016)

3. Jharkhand (17 August 2016)

4. Himachal Pradesh (22 August 2016)

5. Chhattisgarh (22 August 2016)

6. Gujarat (23 August 2016)

7. Madhya Pradesh (24th August 2016)

8. Delhi (24th August 2016)

No comments:

Post a Comment